Winter Folk Mix

About two months ago I created a folk mixed tape for someone.  For me, the art of the mixed tape is alive and well.  And yes, I still call it a tape even though the format has changed.

The person it was made for has been living under a rock for quite some time, so not all of the choices are recent releases (and some are new releases of old favorites – see track #1).  It might not be my best mix I’ve ever made, but it definitely hit the spot today, which I believe warrants sharing.  I suggest checking these out.  To not clutter the blog, I have linked track names to videos where available.

Winter Folk Mix

1 – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right – Bob Dylan, The Witmark Demos

2 – In the Meantime – Joe Pug

3 – Favorite Coat – Amber Rubarth

4 – Arms of a Woman – Amos Lee, Live at KCRW

5 – Crushes – Andy Shauf, Darker Days

6 – I’d Sing Hallelujah – Andy Zipf

7 – Your Ghost – Greg Laswell

8 – Belly of June – Horse Feathers, Thistled Spring

9 – Grace – Johnathan Kingham

10 – 500 Miles (Hedy West Cover) – Josh Ritter

11 – Sigh No More – Mumford & Sons, Sigh No More

12 – All My Running – Reed Turner, All My Running

13 – Beg Steal or Borrow – Ray LaMontagne & The Pariah Dogs, God Willin’ & The Creek Don’t Rise

14 – Acrobats & Soldiers – Reed Turner

15 – Feeling The Pull – The Swell Season, Strict Joy

16 – If Time Was For Wasting – Dylan LeBlanc

17 – In These Arms – The Swell Season, Strict Joy

18 – All the Best (Live) – John Prine, A John Prine Christmas

Leave a Reply

