Reclaiming Bob Dylan

I’m secretly creating the soundtrack of my life as I go along.  Like many other music lovers, this results in music being very closely associated with various times and people from my past.  Unfortunately, this is the case for good times and bad.

I currently have some rather raw emotions attached to Bob Dylan – which is making it a little hard to enjoy listening to his music.  It’s a sad thing when music that you love upsets you.  Just because one relationship went south doesn’t mean that my relationship with Dylan should suffer too.  So, what does one do in a situation like this?

Cutting out these songs and artists is ineffective, because despite how hard you hide from them – they’ll find you again.  When you least expect it.  In the waiting room of the doctor’s office for example.  They’ll get you one way or another.

And this time I have myself in a pickle.  I mean, Bob Dylan.  The idea of living a life without Dylan is quite simply preposterous.  Even if I wanted to cut him out, which I don’t, I wouldn’t be able to avoid him long.  He’s too ingrained in our culture.  He’s everywhere, not just with the depth of his catalog and the length of his career, but by all the other artists that I love that he inspired.  I was reminded of this last night when watching Parenthood, for not only do they use “Forever Young” for the title sequence, but they often feature modern balladeers, like Josh Ritter.

So, my project for February – in case doing Thing-A-Day, swimming and normal work aren’t enough – is to reclaim Bob Dylan for myself.  I am going to try my hardest to shed those negative associations, and be able to once again enjoy him for all he’s brought to music.

It should be noted that when I began this entry I realized that my music wasn’t on, which needed to be correctly immediately.  The first thing iTunes shuffle provided was the new mono recording of “Like A Rolling Stone.”  Cruel joke, music gods, cruel joke.

The reclaiming process will begin with “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right.”  It’s my favorite, and I have the awesome version from The Witmark Demos.  It also has a message that could be pretty helpful in my situation.

Leave a Reply

