Thing-A-Day #4 – Shrinky Dinks!

Well my tease about the retro craft was short lived, as I was too excited to put them off until later in the month.  It’s Shrinky Dinks!

I found them on clearance at my local craft store earlier this week.  Hello 1985!  Had to buy them.  When 25 years has passed since your last Shrinky Dink experience, the wonder of them is completely renewed.  I was for some reason shocked that they shrunk so much.  Hooray for recapturing some childhood joy.

At the start - about 3 inches wide

Shrinky Dinks are also nearly impossible to photograph well.  So, my apologies for the sub-par photos today.  I wish that I could capture the cute polka dots and stripes better than I did.  Just trust me, they are adorable.  And shrunk to the size of nickels and quarters.  I loved every minute of it.

After: bright, small and adorable

Fuzzy close-ups:

You can see my entry on thing-a-day.com here.

3 thoughts on “Thing-A-Day #4 – Shrinky Dinks!

  1. Claudia says:

    Shrinky Dinks!!!! I loved those when I was a kid. And, you may have just given me inspiration for my invitations (that I still haven’t started)

      • Claudia says:

        I have some shrinky dink type material that I bought ages ago that you can stamp an image on and then shrink down. I was going to stamp an apple (since the charity we are donating to this year is Teachers without Borders) but I went a different direction. It would have been cool to have a little tiny apple hanging from the tree I was going to use as well. Maybe that’ll be a project for another day.

Leave a Reply

