Back When the M in MTV Still Stood for Music

I don’t imagine many people remember the first time they saw a music video on MTV, but I most certainly do.  My cousin was over and we were in the basement playing with Barbies, which is what we did most of the times that were together.  Being older and wiser, she knew about MTV, where I only knew about 8 tracks, records, and The Beatles, and she asked if it would be okay if we checked it out while we played.

And this video was playing when we turned it on…

“Under the Bridge” by the Red Hot Chili Peppers.  Since this song came out in 1992, a good 11 years after MTV came on the air, I was clearly not on the cutting edge of early MTV adoption/fandom.  But honestly, I really didn’t know much about popular music at the time, so it’s not really that surprising.

At the time I had no idea what the song was about, and was probably only slightly aware that things like drugs and addiction existed.  I just remember wondering why his hair was so long and why he didn’t like shirts much.

I was never a huge RHCP’s fan, but this song sticks with me.  It reminds me of my cousin, and it reminds me of good times.  It was also probably one of the first times I realized how much more music was out there to explore.

Did I make anyone else feel super old by pointing out that this song came out 19 years ago?  You’re welcome…

One thought on “Back When the M in MTV Still Stood for Music

  1. Claudia says:

    No, you made me feel really old because I remember when MTV made it’s debut. Video Killed the Radio Star by the Buggles was the first video. And, I remember sitting in my friend’s basement every New Year’s Eve as we would try to make predictions as to which video would would be named video of the year. I wonder if they even do that anymore….considering they stopped playing videos eons ago.

Leave a Reply

