Thing-A-Day #28 – Wrapping Up

It’s a blizzardy evening here in Crafty Audiophileland – and while a blanket of freshly fallen snow makes sleeping snug in bed appealing to most, I can’t turn my brain off long enough to fall asleep. Common problem these days.

Pretty snow!

I’ve been listening to a lot of Mumford & Sons lately.  I can’t decide if they make me happy or break my heart.  It’s very confusing.  But that’s an entry for another day.  Seems I owe you one or two of those at this point.

February 28 – the last day of Thing-A-Day 2011.  I made it!  It was an intimidating task at first, but I’m proud of all that I’ve accomplished.  And it reminded me how much I love to craft.  I hope to do it more often, but I’m excited to not be crafting by “obligation” going forth.  It’s like reading for class – never as enjoyable.

I did love the sense of community amongst the TADers though and all the amazing support I received from my friends, family and readers.  Thank you for your investment in my quest and for sticking with me through it.

For the last day I made the three remaining magazine holders.  Since I’ve done nothing but purge since I moved here, I’m not sure I even have enough magazines to put in all of them…but I’ll make it work.  There’s any number of less glamorous items that I can hide in them.

The final three:

It's blue day!

I’m actually pretty proud of the set as a whole.  I hope at some point to attach metal nameplates similar to the ones on the boxes, but haven’t looked into locating them yet.

The whole set:

Oh, the glue sticks that sacrificed their lives for this project...along with a couple of my finger tips.

With a couple of their box counterparts:

They are going to look fantastic on my bookshelves.

It is a wonderful feeling to finish a project that I planned years ago.  One step closer to perfect organization.

But, that’s not all!  I wanted to finish Thing-A-Day in style, so I also completed the second coaster for my Grandparents.  Well, mostly.  Let’s just pretend that it’s a seedless watermelon.

Stark contrast to the winter reality...

So concludes Thing-A-Day 2011.  It’s hard to imagine where I’ll be and what I’ll be doing a year from now, but I hope that I’m able to participate again.  I wish I had the skill set to make one of those awesome photo collages of all the projects I did like some of the participants.  Goals for next year – higher quality photos and summary collage.

Thanks everyone!

Note: A bit of context.  This was written at 2am last night, but pictures wouldn’t load.  That’s why it is being posted late.

One thought on “Thing-A-Day #28 – Wrapping Up

  1. Mom says:

    The holders look amazing. Now that you are an expert, you can start on a set for me! I am very proud of all that you accomplished this month. It gives me motivation to get some of my projects finished. Love you!

Leave a Reply

