Song of the Day – Red Rubber Ball (Simon & Garfunkel)

I’ve admittedly been a bit lazy as of late and have been mostly driving to work. But today a giant steamroller parked at the end of my driveway helped me make the right decision to walk to work. Sure get to listen to a lot more songs on foot than by car.

The shuffle was treating me well today and as I approached work Simon & Garfunkel’s version of Red Rubber Ball came on. The song was originally co-written by Simon, but made popular by The Cyrkle (that spelling is ridiculous). Well, Art tells the story better…

In 2004 I made myself a mix to move out of my student government offices. It was a somber affair and I thought music that reminded me of good times might help the process. It didn’t – I cried the whole time. Oh, memories. Luckily, the song is more strongly connected to the initial memories of listening to it with my roommate Matt than it is the crying. And therefore, hearing it today made me smile.

Leave a Reply

