Make It Monday: Decorative Orbs

Nothing like starting a new feature and then waiting 3 weeks to bring the “weekly” feature back. Bad form.

I have a giant IKEA bookshelf that I have on its side and am using as a tv stand/vinyl record storage unit, and I’ve struggled with the configurations of things on it since. I will probably always be toying with it.

I have a really great basket on one of the shelves, which is strangely full of antique scotch tape tins. Yep, I’m a weirdo. So, I’ve been looking into new items for the basket – and why not make my own?

So, I decided to make some decorative orbs, or “Pomanders.” I found this tutorial online. Here’s a few pictures to highlight the process, but please visit the link for more specific instructions.

First, gather materials.

Believe it or not, that's dark maroon.

Then punch a couple of hundred flowers.

Then place two flowers on a pearl tipped pin. I initially planned to do the off-white as the bottom pedal, but then decided it looked better all the same color. If you are like me the next step is to stab yourself about 30 times, but maybe you can skip that step.

Then you simply place the pins into a 4 inch styrofoam ball.

So following one tutorial to make this orb inspired me to make up orbs for myself. They will be coming soon, but as a teaser, the next one will be made from this.

It was nice to take a day off of the projects I’ve been working on to do this. Hope you like it.

One thought on “Make It Monday: Decorative Orbs

  1. Kelsey says:

    Christina! I am glad you love pulled pork pizza too 🙂 We can go on a pizza-tasting tour with Nick when you decide to visit me! Haha, my guest bed is ready and waiting. I MISS YOU! These orbs are so cute…I want to make some green ones for my living room. Wish you were here to explore WITH me.

Leave a Reply

