Dead Man’s Bones

First off, apologies for my absence. The internet at home has not been working and since I borrow from my very polite (but loud) neighbors I can’t really complain when it isn’t functioning properly. And before you start judging, it’s a legitimate borrow not “borrow”. They gave me the password.

Anyhow, I’ve been scribbling notes down along the way of all the stuff I want to talk to you about. I sadly can’t find my Crafty Audiophile notebook, so the notes are thrown onto everything from post-its to receipts, and will hopefully make a week’s worth of entries for you.

Anyhow, early in 2009 I heard that Ryan Gosling had formed a band called Dead Man’s Bones. Now, I love Ryan Gosling. Most people remember him from The Notebook. But one viewing of Half Nelson, where he plays a teacher with a destructive drug habit, will have you admiring him for his acting ability, not just his charm. Despite my adoration for him as an actor, my bias against actors turned musicians greatly outweighed it, and I was prepared to hate the music that he produced. “Stick to acting Mr. Gosling,” was already poised to stumble out of my mouth.

I have a confession for you, sometimes I am wrong, and when the first music video from Dead Man’s Bones was released in April of that year, I admitted immediately that this was one of those times. I was one of the first 100 people to view the video on Vimeo, and I must say I felt super cool. I then attempted to negate my earlier judgment by sharing the video with the world, sending it to all fans of Ryan and fans of great music that I knew.

Here is that video:

After months of checking their website, which consisted of nothing but the notice of something coming soon and a picture of someone digging a grave, the full album was released in October of that year. In what I consider one of the biggest mistakes in modern music, they mysterious did not include”Name in Stone” on the album. I’m still a little upset about it.

The self-titled album is definitely one of the more unique albums out there, with motifs of the dead and all things other-worldly, and haunting chants of a children’s choir – but I love it. “My Body’s a Zombie for You” is a stand out track finishing with the fun Z-O-M-B-I-E ZOMBIE chant, but the best track by far is “Pa Pa Power.” It’s catchy, fun, and a little addictive. Sing it with friends, I promise it will make your life more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

