Clean Clothes & Creativity

There’s no better time to think than while sitting in a laundromat all by yourself. You should know a couple things about this experience – the laundry facility is attached to a gas station, and the washing machines take weird plastic disc tokens, but the dryers take quarters. And I’m pretty sure that a ghost keeps going in out of the door, as it gently swings open and shut. Sure, it could be wind…but I’m putting my money on ghost.

You should also know that I hate no other activity in the world as much as I hate doing laundry. I would rather do any number of things people consider miserable before laundry. Dentist appointment? Sure! Scrubbing the toilet? You’ll never see it cleaner. Speaking in front of a couple hundred people? Sign me up. I think you get the point. I HATE it. You should see the ugly outfits I’ve been wearing the last couple of weeks to delay this process as long as possible. One of my great hopes in life is to marry a man that loves this nonsense. If you know one, send him my way.

Believe it or not, I wasn’t actually writing to tell you about laundry, but instead to explain my abandonment of the blog and my plans to rectify the situation. Those keeping track know that it’s been a month and a half since I last posted. And that is mostly because I feel like I’ve fallen into a black hole devoid of creativity. I haven’t felt like I had much to say. And even music has been a disappointment lately. Clearly, there is a problem.

Part of this is my current living situation. For the first time in my life, I desperately need to make a change, but have no idea what it should be. As a chronic planner, this fact has me feeling a little bit lost. And by a little bit – I really mean a lot. There are no lack of options, but all of them involve taking a risk, and I just need to narrow down which risk to take. No easy task.

There have been things to write about during my absence – the death of Steve Jobs, REM breaking up, finally finishing the failed Josh Ritter week, the awesomeness that is the Musicians Volume project, a Swell Season documentary and most importantly, the release of Reed’s EP. Hopefully I can still tackle some of the subjects as we move forward.

And despite the fact that I feel a creative void, I’ve actual done a bit of crafting. Strangely, I kind of wish that I had brought them with me to the laundromat as the lighting here is much better than what I have at home. Oh, hindsight. Unfortunately, my addiction to Pinterest is making the to-do list grow at about ten times the rate of my list of accomplishments, but we can’t win them all.

I need the outlet this blog provides, so I’m now pledging to recommit to it. I’m going to attempt to post for 7 days in a row. We’ll see where we go from there. I’m thankful for the encouragement that I have received to return to it. I’m also fortunate that a former student came by today and made me realize that I’m too hard on myself when it comes to my idea of creativity. Might as well put some stuff out there, and see what works…

 

Leave a Reply

