Adventures in Jewelry Making

Thanks to my obsession with Pinterest, I’ve read a lot about this magic substance called Diamond Glaze that is used in many projects, but mostly jewelry. Seemed simple enough, so I headed to my local craft store to be reminded once again that I live in a small town, and returned home to purchase it from the interwebs.

Strangely enough, I already had some bezels at home – or as I liked to call them prior to this experience “little tray-y things.” Now, I hope the complexity of this craft doesn’t blow you mind:

Step 1: Measure the inside of your bezel.

Step 2: Cut scrapbook paper to fit. Use a paper cutter – this isn’t amateur hour.

Step 3: Squeeze a little Diamond Glaze into the bezel. Spread throughout the space with a foam brush.

Step 4: Place your paper in. I secured the paper from the inside out, in case there were bubbles to force out.

Step 5: Let dry for 15 minutes.

Step 6: Fill the tray with Diamond Glaze.

Step 7: Watch for bubbles and pop them!

I learned a few things along the way. For one, you will notice that the result is slightly yellowed. Strange for something that they decided to name after diamonds, which are known for their clarity.

Secondly, just because you don’t have bubbles at the beginning to pop, doesn’t mean they won’t appear. The first one I made was clear of bubbles, so I gently set it on a shelf – still no bubbles. But unfortunately, there was a dried series of bubbles on one of the sides in the morning. You can’t really tell from a distance, so I will still wear it. The one pictured above I watched like a hawk. It was probably 15 minutes until bubbles appeared, but I was able to pop them with a needle (no easy task on some of them).

1st attempt (r), 2nd attempt (l)

My head is already racing with all the possibilities. This will not be the last time you hear of this glaze, that’s a promise.

Leave a Reply

