Thing-A-Day #1 – Paper Bead Necklace

On the evening of the first day of the 2012 installment of Thing-A-Day one thing is clear – if I do not clean up my storage room I will not make it through this process. I will either A)spend unnecessary money on supplies that I really already have and cannot begin to find or B)get tangled in some renegade yarn and get eaten alive by the mess. So cleaning – on the agenda for the weekend. Can I consider it my thing that day? Maybe if I make cute labels or something I can.

So anyhow, my project for today was to seal some already made paper beads and then string them to make a necklace. You wouldn’t think that would be a difficult process, but then again we are talking about me and I have this pesky habit of making things more difficult than they need to be.

I placed each paper bead on a tooth pick before sealing with matte mod podge, and then stuck them in this ball of string to dry. My ingenius plan was to use a styrofoam ball, but could not find one – hence the discovery of the condition of my extra room.

Spikey fun!

My initial idea was to use green cotton cord and tie knots in between the beads. But the cord needed to be doubled up to create a big enough knot to keep the beads in place. And of course, it couldn’t be a simple slip knot so I was trying to do figure-eight knots (wooohooo for being a Sea Scout as a young person). And my inability to get the knots right were I wanted them caused me to actually throw my project – a first for my TAD experiences.

So I settled on these Czech glass beads. I guess they will do…

Paper bead necklace

It's doubled up, but there it is.

 

Close up

So, thus completes the first day of Thing-A-Day 2012. My plans for the month include a lot of jewelry, some home decor, some felt work, and a bit of knitting – we’ll see where the adventure takes me. I appreciate all the words of encouragement I got today about both this project and my return to my blog yesterday.

I’m thrilled to announce that in addition to crafting alongside my friend Meagan this year, we are joined by one of my all time favorites – Kelsey. Meagan will be spending the month making an adorable tiny Blythe hat a day (though she might have to change that to baby hats!!!!) and Kelsey will be experimenting with molecular gastronomy (fancy!). You can see their day one posts by clicking on their names above. So glad to be in such good company.

5 thoughts on “Thing-A-Day #1 – Paper Bead Necklace

  1. Kelsey says:

    Awww you are the best! I am so excited to finally do TAD with you 🙂 It is fun to have a goal for each and every day of the month. Meagan is DEFINITELY going to have to be making baby hats – CONGRATS MEAGAN!!! And Christina, I can’t wait to see all that you make 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    Wow, you threw it??? It’s not worth getting that mad over, especially when you have a great Mom that gives you beads to use! Love you!

    • Mom says:

      I stand corrected, the ones I gave you weren’t worth the trip to Idaho! Found them on the desk in your room! I do really like the beads you used in your necklace.

  3. Meagan says:

    KELSEY! THANKS! I am so excited! You know I’ll rock the baby hats – just not yet. ; )

    Loverpants – I AM SO GLAD YOU HAVE BROUGHT YOUR CHARM AND TALENTS BACK TO THE INTERWEBS! It missed you. We missed you. ❤

Leave a Reply

